singapore prize

The Singapore Prize is an award that rewards innovation in the fashion, design, and textile industries. Launched in partnership with the Textile and Fashion Federation of Singapore, the Prize seeks to reimagine the creative ecosystem through innovation. It is designed to help identify emerging creatives and businesses who have the potential to solve real-world challenges. Here are some examples of Singapore Prize winners. Let’s look at each of these in detail.

Awards for outstanding engineering students

The National Science and Technology Centre (NST) and the Singapore Polytechnic are currently hosting competitions to recognise the best students from Singapore’s engineering programs. The winners will be notified by the Singapore Polytechnic in early Term. The prize money of up to $1000 will go towards the cost of the trip, accommodation, and food. In the postgraduate category, the students can also compete in the International Precision Medicine Conference (IPMC).

To date, the awards have recognised the outstanding achievements of 450 engineering students studying in Singapore. This year, the SP Group has donated $1.35 million to establish the Awards, which will go to three cohorts of 150 students each. The winners will be chosen by a panel of judges from the engineering colleges, including ITE and NTU, as well as through the SP’s student survey. The awards will also provide work-study stints in fields like sustainable energy, renewable energy, and new technologies, as well as mentorships with engineers and experts.

Scholarships for SEA Games athletes

STI Foundation recently awarded scholarships to national team members. During a courtesy call at the STI Academic Center in Cainta, Rizal, STI Foundation Head Connie Andrada-Sablay handed over scholarship papers to 24 athletes. Among them is SEA Games Gold Medalist Josie Gabuco. These scholarships will help them continue their education and pursue careers in sport. Moreover, the scholarships will also cover the cost of their sport equipment and school-related expenses.

As part of the program, scholarships for SEA Games athletes are awarded to top-level sportspeople. The scholarships cover training facilities and coaching, medical insurance, pocket money, and travel costs for relevant competitions and qualifying events in Paris 2024. Athletes must also meet the eligibility requirements. Scholarships should be applied for as early as possible. The deadline for applying for scholarships is March 15.

Literature prize

The Singapore Literature Prize is a prestigious literary award in Singapore. The Prize’s judges are composed of twelve local chief judges and 24 international judges, including British poet George Szirtes, award-winning Chinese author Wang An Yi, Tamil poet t.cumti, and Asian American writer/academic Shirley Geok-lin Lim. The shortlisted works are read by a panel of judges that includes authors from Singapore, the UK, and the US.

This year’s Literature Prize features two prize-winning books by international authors, including a Singaporean author, Tania De Rozario. De Rozario’s Pulp II: A Visual Bibliography of the Banished Book, and Other Novels will compete for the award. Also on the list is Siong Guan Lim, author of the award-winning novels Tender Delirium, And The Walls Come Crumbling Down, and Somewhere Else, Another You.

Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize

The Singapore government’s Urban Redevelopment Authority awards the Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize to a city whose innovative urban solutions have transformed their city. The Prize honors key cities, organizations, and leaders for their outstanding contributions to cities. It promotes thought leadership among cities and aims to spur innovation in sustainable urban development. The prize also recognizes exemplary practices and fosters sharing of best practices.

The Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize will be presented to a city every two years for outstanding contributions to creating livable, sustainable, and vibrant urban communities. This year, Vienna was awarded the prize, but due to the pandemic, it was not announced until later. Vienna is still expected to receive the prize next year, so it’s not too late for them to claim the accolade. The World Cities Summit is taking place in Singapore from July 31 to August 3, and the Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize is one of the prestigious awards.